Posted by: jyunbugspeaks | August 12, 2012

Man vs. Sandwich at The Corned Beef House

Once in a while I get to experience a taste sensation that is out of this world and I got a surprise one afternoon while having lunch with a co-worker. The place was called The Corned Beef House – 270 Adelaide Street West  Toronto, ON M5H 1X6 (416) 977-2333 (http://cornedbeefhouse.com/). When my job required me to be transferred from Mississauga to downtown Toronto I was told of many places to eat for lunch yet this place was not really mentioned. I’m glad I found the time to sit down and check it out! This place was a warm and cozy pub style joint with old-fashioned posters of Charlie Chaplin and classic neon beer signs next to the bar. The staff was very friendly as we entered the place and the first thing I saw was a poster that announced a challenge to everyone that entered. It was an epic Man vs Sandwich challenge. I was intrigued as I love challenges and this one was a doozy! Eat a 40 ozs. of meat of your choice, bread and pickle in hour and if you succeed…it’s yours for free!  So in preparation for possibly doing this challenge I thought I should at least try a smaller version first. No sense in stuffing your face if you don’t think it tastes the best right? So I ordered the Huge size at 7 oz. Well I wasn’t too impressed with the size as I’ve been to a New York deli in a past trip down to the US and their sandwiches were much bigger than this one. As I was munching on some of the best smoked meat I’ve tasted since I was in Montreal, I calculated that I would have to eat 6 more sandwiches just to cover the weight of the meat! Oh boy this will be a challenge after all. Well I must say that the smoked meat that I had was so delicious that I have decided to do the challenge…well actually I am going to challenge myself to eat a sandwich at each different weight categories which will  eventually lead up to the big one. My next challenge will be to try the Gigantic size at 10 ozs, then the Colossal, weighing in at 16 ozs and then the big one at 40 ozs. Wish me luck as I will be recording this monumental task and posting it in the near future so stay tuned : )

Food:  4 out 5    Atmosphere: 3 out of 5     Service: 4 out of 5      Price: 3 out of 5

Responses

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Firefox. Superb Blog!

    • Thanks for taking the time to checkout my blog! The theme/template is called Ocean Mist and I just liked the clean lines and columns it created when I posted my blogs.

  2. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great post.

    • Wow what kind words! I hope you get your blog started and please let me know what its called and Ill check it out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Manny Pavao - Image Gallery

Argyle Interior Design

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

helobiae

a celebration of life

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

