Posted by: jyunbugspeaks | January 9, 2012

Gourmet Vegetarian Restaurant indeed!

“I’m a level 5 vegan—I don’t eat anything that casts a shadow.” –Character on The Simpsons

It’s  not often I find a restaurant that I recommend let alone a vegetarian one but the Gourmet Vegetarian Restaurant (www.gourmetveg.ca) at 280 West Beaver Creek Dr, #22-23, Richmond Hill. Tel:(905) 886-0680 is a place one should try even if you’re not a vegetarian. Yeah I know what your thinking, a vegetarian place that actually tastes good! I don’t blame you for being skeptical, I was too until I stepped into this little cozy and unobtrusive joint up in Richmond Hill. Again like I mentioned in my other posts, these types of restaurants in North York are not easy to find. One must either find out by word of mouth or just going in blind and trying it out. We went with the latter and struck gold! Our meal started with a soup. My girlfriend chose the Hot and Sour soup that was so delicious that if I was blindfolded, I would not have been able to taste the difference from one with meat in it. We were recommended by the waitress to try a sampler platter of gluten. The dish had many different flavours and textures of traditional styles of chinese bbq.  There was bbq “pork”, “beef tenderloin”, mild curry flavoured, soya and deep-fried “chicken”. Surprisingly they all tasted like it’s meat counterpart AND closely mimicked it’s texture. Now that is difficult to do in my mind cause I’ve had other mock meat and none have come even close to this restaurant. The chefs in this place know what they’re doing. I kind of wonder if they ate meat before because how would they know how to create the flavour let alone the texture so close to the real thing?  Our next course is one of their signature dishes which consisted of sautéed tofu with mushrooms and broccoli. This dish is truly one the best tofu dishes I’ve ever ate. The tofu is velvety soft, the mushrooms plump and juicy, the broccoli bright green and the sauce is packed with umami favour. A must try item that will guarantee to please! The third dish our friend Sonia chose was called Crispy “Chicken”. Now this is one of my favourite chicken dishes that I always order whenever I have chinese so I knew what this would taste like and I was most looking forward to trying. It even came with the requisite “styrofoam” chips but cleverly made without the shrimp in it. Once again this place did not disappoint, amazingly the “chicken” skin had a crispy crunch that was not greasy and the mock chicken was moist and had the texture so close to the real thing I swear I was eating chicken. Outstanding!  The entire meal was rounded off with a side of Yung Chow fried rice which consisted of mock pork, green peas, carrots and onions deliciously mixed together with fried rice. 

What can say? I loved this place and would highly recommend visiting. If you never had vegetarian and want to try it without being disappointed with the notion of eating vegetarian, this is the place. They even will ask you if you are okay with dairy as they are also sensitive to vegans and lactose intolerant customers too!

Food:  5 out 5    Atmosphere: 4 out of 5     Service: 4 out of 5      Price: 4 out of 5

If you have tried this place or recommend any other places please feel free to write a comment! Cheers!

Responses

  1. Looks Yummy! – Harry


Leave a Reply

Categories

Manny Pavao - Image Gallery

Argyle Interior Design

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

helobiae

a celebration of life

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

