Posted by: jyunbugspeaks | October 6, 2011

67th day: Let the cooking begin!

I know it’s late in the game but it’s better to start than not start at all. As you know I have begun this challenge way back in August to finish off 5 goals in 100 days. So far…I’ve only managed to start 3 out of the 5 and it’s already into the month of October. Yeesh talk about procrastination! 

So to refresh everyone’s minds, what are the 3 goals that I’ve started you say? Creating this blog was one. Finished and still going strong. Second, learn to the handle the nunchaku or nunchuks. Happy to say I’ve started and will continue to learn as I bought some practice ones (apparently it’s illegal to sell real nunchuks in Toronto, who knew?).Third was to complete 10 recipes.  Which brings us to this post. One down 9 more to go!

I began my cooking research in the middle of September and found some good recipes that I could handle. Now I’m a beginner at this so no fancy french cooking or complex ingredient laced foods. I found about 8 simple recipes at the  Canadian Living website. For my first recipe the ingredients were simple and so were the cooking instructions. Actually this recipe was a baking one.  I chose to make Chocolate Coconut Mounds (the complete recipe is located at the bottom of this page). I gathered my ingredients which consisted of sweetened shredded coconut, semi-sweet chocolate chips, vanilla, egg whites, sugar and a pinch of salt. The only difficult part of this process was the beating of the egg whites (I didn’t use a mixer, just hand power). Other than that I just folded the shredded coconut into the egg whites with the sugar and vanilla and presto the mounds were complete. I spooned them onto a cooking sheet (didn’t have one so I used a pizza tray lol) lined with parchment paper. I got a tip from a friend and I also witnessed this on the food network to use a pot and a mixing bowl to melt the chocolate. Apparently chocolate will burn if melted directly in a pan. Also another tip, don’t bake the mounds too long and also don’t try to remove them after you just baked them. You have to let it rest for 5 minutes or you’ll have the cookies with bits of wax paper on the bottom of them. I learned that the hard way as I destroyed about 8 mounds trying to remove them. Patience and timing is the key to this recipe. I get so excited that they actually look like the picture that I forget to let things cool down.

As you can see the remaining ones did turn out okay and they actually tasted, for me anyways, pretty good. I got early reviews from several friends that said they were yummy (thanks Manny and Susan!) and did not suffer when consumed. My gf’s mom’s critique wasn’t so kind as she said they were too sweet yet she ate like 4 of them?! Oh well can’t win them all. I am about to unleash these babies onto my workmates and hopefully they will respond with kind words. Until the next recipe…thanks for reading along!

Ingredients

  • 2 egg whites , at room temperature
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3-1/2 cups sweetened shredded coconut
  • 4 oz bittersweet chocolate
Preparation
 
Line rimless baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.

In bowl, beat egg whites with salt until foamy; beat in vanilla. Beat in sugar, 2 tbsp (25 mL) at a time, until stiff peaks. Fold in coconut. Drop by 1 tbsp (15 mL), 1 inch (2.5 cm) apart, onto prepared pan. Bake in centre of 325°F (160°C) oven until edges are golden, 18 minutes. Let cool on pan for 5 minutes; transfer to racks and let cool.

Line rimless baking sheet with parchment paper. Dip bottoms of cookies into chocolate; place on pan. Refrigerate until hardened, about 10 minutes.

Responses

  1. These are absolutely amazing. Had the distinct privilege to try this. Amazing recipe for sure.

    • Thanks Moiz for your comment! Ill be making different kinds of treats in the next couple of weeks so be on the lookout for them : )

  2. these macaroons were delicious!! I sometimes buy the ones at Cosco, but these were WAY BETTER!!! Crunchy, but soft inside, and the coconut wasn’t too overpowering. My only suggestion, the ones with chocolate, were a bit too sweet for me, but I don’t have much of a sweet tooth in the first place, so I’d just use a darker chocolate instead. Either way, it was a lovely suprise!

    – Thanks Jyun!!! XD

    • haha you know what, I made an error in the recipe. It required bitter sweet chocolate and accidently used semi-sweet. I think that’s why it was alittle too sweet. Thank you for you comment though! I need all the publicity I can get with this blog!

  3. I’m a little late in this comment, but I tried these awhile back. I tried the macaroons without the chocolate first and I loved it. With the chocolate was even better! I’m not much of a ‘sweets’ guy but I appreciated these. When’s the next batch coming out?! haha

    • Thanks Kris for the reply. My 90 days are up but Ill probably do another batch during our Projectionists Xmas Party later on in December.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Manny Pavao - Image Gallery

Argyle Interior Design

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

helobiae

a celebration of life

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

