Posted by: jyunbugspeaks | September 20, 2011

Fresh Vegetarian Brunch!

Now just a heads up to all meatetarians, this establishment is ALL VEGETARIAN and even VEGAN! You have been warned.  This weekend I went outside my comfort zone and tried something different.  I love to eat breakfast but my gf thought that I was eating too much grease so she suggested we goto a place called Fresh for brunch.  If you don’t know my gf is a vegetarian so I felt that in order to be fair I would try this place as she had been to countless greasy spoons with me to satisfy MY cravings.  Now I normally do not go anywhere near these kinds of places as I had a bad experience at a  vegetarian  establishment before that I will not mention…it rhyms with Dive but I was game for it again.  Anyways I found the place at 147 Spadina Avenue, M5V 2L7 Telephone: 416-599-4442 Hours: Monday to Friday 11:30 am to 10 pm, Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am to 10 pm,  Weekend Brunch served until 3 pm. As I approached the place my gf reminded me to keep an open mind and that not all vegetarian places are crap. Inside the place was clean with dark oak wood floors and their menu was bright green and orange which made me feel…healthy.  The servers were attentive and helpful in explaining what were in certain things, for example: I wanted to know what Tempeh bacon was..its basically fake bacon made from soybeans and pressed into a mold to look like bacon.  It sounded good so I ordered the Full Breakfast and got the Tempeh bacon with scrambled tofu(?) and baked beans. My gf got the Pancake Platter with grilled vegan sausage pucks(!) and the same scrambled tofu.  Unfortunately  the bacon did not come close to tasting like bacon…at all. It had this weird smoky taste but had the texture of  a hash brown that was sliced super thin. The vegan sausages, if you can believe it, tasted way better. Mental note: fake bacon no, sausage pucks yes.  Also the scrambled tofu had an odd taste as well, heavy on the oregano it seemed. My gf thought it was disgusting! A vegetarian not liking vegetarian food…oh my, sacrilege!  Anyways I did not mind my breakfast as long as I had the homemade ketchup to kinda bind it together and have somewhat of a breakfast taste to it.  The toasted bread was awesome, great crunch and taste but the rest….well not so great. The blueberry pancakes were okay. Kinda dense and flavourless unless you drench it with maple syrup. Which we did and the smoothies were okay too, nothing outstanding.  All in all it was an interesting meal….would I go back…sure. If nothing else I would want to try their burgers or fresh bowls. Funny I kinda now have to convince my girlfriend to come back. How ironic…

If you get a chance to check out where I’ve eaten, let me know your thoughts about the place. Cheers!

2nd location: FRESH ON BLOOR 326 Bloor Street West, M5S 1W5   Telephone: 416-531-2635 Hours:Monday to Friday 11:30 am to 10 pm, Saturday & Sunday 10:30 am to 10 pm, Weekend Brunch served until 3 pm

Food:  2 out 5    Atmosphere: 3 out of 5     Service: 4 out of 5      Price: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

Categories

Manny Pavao - Image Gallery

Argyle Interior Design

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Fabulous 50's

If you'd like to travel with me, google "Travel Spirit Meetup"

helobiae

a celebration of life

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

